Friday, December 2, 2011

Blonde Redhead To Release Japan Benefit Album (Feat. Deerhunter, Interpol, & More)

Check out more photos of Blonde Redhead and Interpol at Terminal 5 back in May!

Hometown indie rock mainstays Blonde Redhead are no stranger to good causes - earlier this year, they co-hosted a benefit for Sickday Safety Net with NYC contemporaries Interpol over at Terminal 5. And now the trio are set to release a project that goes far beyond the five boroughs to bring aid to Japan.

The island nation is still struggling to right itself following the massive March earthquake and subsequent tsunami that ravaged its coastline, and in solidarity with Japan's ongoing efforts to rebuild, Blonde Redhead will release the benefit album We Are The Works In Progress on January 10.

The band has assembled what amounts to a Justice League of their awesome peers to contribute tracks to the project, like the aforementioned Interpol, BroadcastLiars, Four Tet, and Future Nostalgia postermen Deerhunter. Per the album's title, all of the songs are exclusives, B-sides, and alternate cuts that are largely works in progress. So in addition to helping provide funds for such agencies as the Japan Earthquake Relief Fund and Architecture For Humanity, it provides a cool opportunity to see what some of our favorite acts are working on right now.

Check out the tracklist below via PFork, and we'll keep you posted on any more news about the project.

We Are the Works in Progress:

01 Four Tet: "Moma" *
02 Karin Andersson: "No Face" *
03 Terry Riley: "G Song" %
04 Nosaj Thing: "Nightcrawler" *
05 John Roberts: "Berceuse" *
06 Blonde Redhead: "Penny Sparkle [Drew Brown remix]" *
07 Pantha du Prince: "Bird on a Wire" *
08 Broadcast: "In Here the World Begins" ^
09 Liars: "Drip [Blonde Redhead remix]" *
10 Deerhunter: "Curve" *
11 Stalactite: "Stalagmite" *
12 John Maus: "Castles in the Grave" *
13 David Sylvian/Ryuichi Sakamoto: "Bamboo House"
14 Interpol: "Song Seven" $

* exclusive
% new version
^ re-release from vinyl-only tour release
$ previously released B-side

No comments:

Post a Comment